Podcast Episode: The Outdoors Fix

Oh man! It has been one hell of a year, to be honest, and I know that this feeling that surrounds me is probably mutual with anybody that is reading this right now. The world has literally been through more episodes than Grey’s Anatomy TV series. From climatic events that have surfaced from different parts of the globe, we’ve had many complications with politics everywhere, a global pandemic, killings and protests – it has been quite crazy to have been watching this all. Then there are of course the more personal experiences that are unique to us all as individuals, which inevitably add towards these complications. For me personally, I lost my job due to the Coronavirus pandemic, my university graduation for November this year got postponed to May 2021, alongside many personal family issues I had to try to assist with while trying to balance all of these things happening around me. It has been so overwhelming and I must admit that I have been down some days, but these emotions never lasted long. I have always been reminded how blessed I am to be living my dream and doing something I love, I have been surrounded by people that love me, and somehow and fortunately I have been granted nice opportunities.

From obtaining partnership deals with brands that share mutual interests and a desire to protect the planet, to many interviews about what I do and who I am, obtaining some presenting opportunities, to getting featured on BBC’s Autumnwatch’s social media feeds, and finally recording a episode with The Outdoors Fix podcast. It truly has been a wild rollercoaster ride amongst some of the madness that has been occurring this year. I still do not know why so many of these opportunities have been presented to me, but all I know is that gratitude is something that I wake up feeling for it all every morning. I had the privilege to feature on Series 5 of the fantastic The Outdoors Fix podcast back in July this year. The podcast itself is hosted by Liv Bolton, who is a journalist and lover of all kinds of outdoor activities. She created this podcast after gaining some inspiration from a hiking trip she took a few years back to the South Island of New Zealand. Ever since then she has been making it her duty to share people’s stories from the outdoors and how they too have changed their paths to experience the natural world and beyond.

Recording done, now to enjoy the nature around us

It was an absolute privilege to have journeyed with Liv back in July, as I guided her through The Cotswolds and we trekked to our destination at RSPB’s Highnam Woods nature reserve. We not only recorded a lovely episode, but in the process of it all, I gained a great new friend. We are both thrilled to have received positive feedback from the episode and I am delighted to hear that it even inspired some people.

Liv and I on our trek through The Cotswolds

So, here it is below for you to listen to:

Tolga Aktas: How I moved from electrical engineering to working in conservation

I shall leave it there and not talk any further. If you enjoyed listening to our episode, please do get in touch either below or contact me directly. Also, please do share some love with Liv and her amazing podcast. She has traveled all over the UK and beyond to share people’s stories. People that have changed their careers or had their lives completely compromised from illnesses and who have dedicated their lives to the outdoors. It’s just inspiring stuff, honestly!

Thanks

Best wishes,

T

One thought on “Podcast Episode: The Outdoors Fix

Leave a comment