Updates from the Field, and a Few Wild Blessings

Well hello there to those that actively follow my journey in all shapes and forms. It has certainly been a while hasn’t it and I must admit it is good to be back momentarily. In honest truth, my life is hectic and on some days it is well structured and on others it is just a mess. It’s probably why I have taken so long to return back to this space that has provided me with so many opportunities and memories. I have missed writing and the sad thing is that I haven’t been too kind to myself when I have been too tired to do so. Life has gotten in the way and I have been working hard far away from this keyboard and my notepad and pens.

Anyway, long story short it is good to be back and I’d love to share a few things with what I have been up to, and what has happened with me during my absence from here. I have had a lot of writing opportunities here and there when I have had the time and energy to do so, and I have been extremely grateful for them. Some of these have been for The Guardian and Countryfile Magazine which still blows my mind every time I think about it. The first article was all about a lovely day out at a woods near me called Highnam Woods. The second shortly after that moved a little further afield to Coombe Hill Canal and Meadows, and my most recent article opportunity allowed me create a bespoke walk 4.4 miles from Gloucester Docks to Elmore along a beautiful canal path and into the beautiful countryside for the magazine and its readers. That was truly a fun time indeed which also allowed me to do something very exciting with Rewild Things and Elmore Court after my walk.

Photo taken by me from my walk from Gloucester Docks to Elmore

I have been interested quite a bit with Rewild Thing’s rewilding journey at Elmore Court, and this allowed me to write up an article about their work in The Guardian. This was my very first article for The Guardian, so I was super proud of it and I was so glad to help create some more exposure of the rewilding project for my friends at Rewild Thing’s and Elmore Court. My most recent article for The Guardian was back at Highnam Woods again, but it was to write about the flora this time around and not the fauna that inhabit the natural space. It was all about bluebells and it was rather exciting and fascinating if I shall be honest.

Outside of my limited supply of writing for myself, it has been an interesting time actually and here’s why. I have had at least three books written about me alongside other contributors and I am honestly humbled and overwhelmed by the whole experience. The first book is called ’12 Modern Black Birders’ by an author called Daniel J. Middleton which was published May 29, 2022. To have been included in such a book among 11 other people that share similar interests as me and are equally achieving some great things in the wildlife, conservation, and environmental sector is truly awe-inspiring. It also has enabled me to realise that each and every one of us has the ability to be a positive influence that can inspire people, and when given the opportunity to – we should use it with all of our energy.

The second book that I have been included in is a really special one actually. If you have been following my journey on here, then you may recall that a couple of years ago I led a little walk through Highnam Woods with my good friend Liv Bolton. It was for an episode of her extremely popular podcast ‘The Outdoors Fix’ and it has recently been shaped into a very beautiful book. The book is called ‘The Outdoors Fix: Stories to inspire you to make the outdoors a bigger part of your life’ and it is a beautifully written and crafted book for anybody that is interested in the natural world and outdoor pursuits.

Enjoying the gorgeous scenery with Rewild Things at Elmore Court

And lastly, the final book contribution which will be arriving to bookshelves and hopefully people’s hands and mailboxes close to the end of the year. Hopefully, I am not boring any of you here but I have been so excited to share all of this stuff and news with you. I have been included in yet another book that shares the joys about race and why we should be proud about it no matter what field we are in. It is absolutely a stunning book and I wish I had these resources when I was younger to witness that there are so many other black people out there in the world that are working in the wildlife, conservation, and environmental science sector. The book is called ‘A Year of Black Joy: 52 Black Voices Share Their Life Passions’ by Jamia Wilson which has been excellently illustrated by Jade Orlando. This book is available to pre-order now for its release on October 10, 2023.

So, a lot has happened in my absence from here and it’s been very exciting indeed. I am hoping to secure a few more article opportunities whenever its available for me to claim. Hopefully, one day I will be able to share some news with you all that I have my very own book for you all to read and cherish. But until that day I am happy sharing things like this and hoping that you all enjoy every moment of the process.

Anyway, that is enough of me yapping away at you. I hope you enjoyed the content and please let me know if you enjoyed any of the articles or purchase any of the books that I am included in.

Peace and love!

T x

2 thoughts on “Updates from the Field, and a Few Wild Blessings

  1. I am very happy for all these writing opportunities that recently came your way, Tolga. And congratulations with being featured in three books. That is huge! Don’t forget to take some time to celebrate all of these achievements. You’re doing great! Keep up the work and I can’t wait to see what else you will write.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment