Setbacks, Wild Tales & Motivation

Gosh! It truly has been a little while since I have put my thoughts to the keyboard and updated this space that I call Ways of the Natural World. The truth is life has been extremely busy, chaotic, and I have been a little exhausted. Ever since I graduated from the University of Gloucestershire back in 2020, things have been a little nuts and life has kept me on my toes for sure. From carrying out my dissertation at the very beginning of the Coronavirus Pandemic, having to find a new job because of the pandemic and even luckily to acquire a new place to live. On top of that too my trusty and good old laptop finally died on me, so I haven’t been able to write much, and it makes me wonder how much we depend on electronics and the digital world. Maybe I should go back to the old days where it was just ink, pen and paper or even perhaps purchase some vintage typewriter or something. Alas, I am back for now and I must admit it brings me joy to finally have the motivation, enthusiasm, and most importantly the time to bring this post to you today. I love writing way too much and not having the opportunity to do so really does sadden my day.

I have just recently returned from a short trip to Arizona in America with my girlfriend, and that place truly rekindled my spirits to the natural world. I haven’t had much time to connect to nature for a while, which is funny because I am one to try and inspire others to get outdoors. But it just goes to show that life gets busy sometimes! Anyway, I look forward to sharing more of my trip to Arizona with you. The landscapes, fauna and flora were beautiful, and I still reminisce of each of my experiences there. Whether it was taking photos of the different hummingbirds, watching packs of coyotes running around and howling in the wilderness, to climbing up mountains and trying to count the many hundreds of thousands of Saguaro cactuses that painted the Arizona State. I could go on forever people! Hopefully, there will be another opportunity to visit that State of America again, because there is so much more I truly want to experience, capture, and document.

Moving further, as I write this to you now, the wind is blowing hard and the leaves from the trees are vibrating noises like the waves from the sea. Our purchased Arizonian windchimes are also adding to the melodies, and the sunlight is piercing through the red, yellow, and green leaves signifying the changes of the seasons. I guess Winter is Coming then, but not the one that is spoken of repeatedly in the Game of Thrones franchise. Autumn is certainly my favourite time of the year, and whilst I recently experienced 95 – 105 Fahrenheit during my 3 weeks in Arizona, I honestly admit that I was excited to come back and experience these seasonal changes here in the UK. At present, my girlfriend and I live in a little cottage in The Cotswolds, and our house is surrounded by agricultural fields. So far, I have successfully documented one farmer’s whole crop season and watched him obtain his wheat crops. It has truly been a blessing to witness, and it does make you appreciate the time and efforts that go into growing our produce. The same fields have different crop plants bursting through the earth at present, so I look forward to seeing what the farmer has in store for his next harvest. As for me, well it is safe to say that the natural world awaits me, and I cannot wait to reconnect with it. So, people I look forward to connecting with you again, and thank you for sharing your time with me to read this post.

Leave a comment